top of page

Balloon Maniac, Singapore

We add WOW to your events

Explore
Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureRosie Rossmawati

From Insurance To Balloon-Making: Why I Decided To Make FUN My Full-Time Career!

Hi everyone,

My name is Rosie, and I’m a professional balloon decorator who LOVES balloons.

In fact, I’m so crazy for them… I named my company Balloon Maniac.

So far, I’ve been sharing a lot of content about balloons as a versatile, effective decoration for corporate functions, events and parties.

(You can read more about my balloon experiences in my blog here.)

But today… I’d like to share a little more about myself. About a woman who went from being an insurance agent to making/selling balloons for a living.

Allow me to start from the very beginning…

My first job was to be an insurance agent. I spent about 5 years peddling insurance products to everyone I knew.

I made a decent income (being an insurance agent was more lucrative back in the day.) But the income wasn’t the main reason I decided to do this.

It was because this job lets me talk to people for a living!

For me, I loved human interaction. I thrived off of it. Enjoyed every moment of it. And this made insurance the perfect job for me.

However… it came with a downside.

Many people tend to shun insurance agents. They didn’t want to be pressured into buying insurance products. And I’m sure many of you reading this feel the same way too.

I guess I can’t blame them. But it really affected me.

Because I’m the kind of person who needs to be liked. I need people to like talking to me. To like being around me.

· So after 5 years, I called it quits. Decided that I didn’t want to be shunned anymore.

After I left, I started to look for “happy” things to do. Things that would make people smile. Laugh. Feel good around me.

It was my personal “therapy” session. To heal myself from all the cold rejections I used to face.

And that’s how I ended up twisting balloons for kids at community centres! Quite a drastic change, right?

At first, I did it just for fun. Nothing serious.

But I was taken aback by one thing: the difference in the reactions I got.

These children were excited. Smiling. Laughing. Begging me to make more balloons for them.

For the first time in my life, I felt a huge sense of fulfilment from what I did. From the children who flocked to me and gave me their full attention. So I invested even more passion into my “work”.

Soon, a few parents took note of my enthusiasm in making balloons at these events. One after another, they came up to me and sought my help to decorate their house parties.

At first, I took on some jobs here and there. But as more and more requests came in, I began to see this as a real business opportunity. An opportunity to set up a balloon decorating business.

But I didn’t want to just work on personal events and celebrations. That wouldn’t be viable. So I started exploring the option of balloon decorations for corporate events.

At first, many friends tried to dissuade me. Told me that there won’t be enough demand for balloon decorations at corporate events.

But I was determined. I wanted to prove them wrong. So I researched intensively. Brainstormed for ways to add value to these events with my balloons.

That’s how I honed my skills in creating memorable experiences with balloons. (You can read more about how I use them here)

And after much thought and consideration… I decided to take a leap of faith. Decided to become a professional balloon decorator. Decided to turn FUN into my full-time career.

So in 2004, I set up my first balloon decoration company. Which is what many now recognise as Balloon Maniac.

And the rest, as they say, is history…

Fast forward to today: It’s been a good 15 years since I embarked on this wild journey.

But it felt like it was just yesterday! I guess time does fly when you’re having fun, right?

In these 15 years, I’ve contributed to countless corporate parties. Functions. Celebrations. Helped hundreds of corporate clients beautify their events and ramp up the experience for guests.

Are you looking to plan your next corporate event? Is it going to be a formal function? Or a fun-filled celebration? Either way, you’ll need to spice up your venue with the appropriate decorations.

And that’s where I can help! If you’d like to find out more about my balloon decorations for your event, simply fill up the contact form below!

[CONTACT FORM]



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Introduction to Balloon Maniac

Want to plan a fabulous party and don’t know where to start? Have you gone from store-to-store and become frustrated because you still cannot find what you like? Ready to make your event stand out in

Home: Subscribe

Contact

11 Woodlands Close, Woodlands 11, #08-48 Singapore 737853

+65 63142850

Thanks for submitting!

Home: Contact
bottom of page